Skip to: Navigation | Content | Sidebar | Footer

Delaware Universities, Accredited Colleges, and Degrees - - College

Delaware Universities, Accredited Colleges, and Degrees

The Delaware Higher Education Commission (DHEC) is the board accountable for the oversight of all colleges in Delaware. Its goal is to ensure that Delaware residents have access to affordable postsecondary education. In order to achieve this goal, the commission releases periodic reports on the state's higher education's progress. Moreover, the DHEC supplies students with the information they need to know when planning their postsecondary education as well as distributes state financial aid.

Accredited Colleges & Universities in Delaware

Of the 20 colleges and universities in Delaware, eight are four-year colleges. The largest universities in Delaware are the University of Delaware and Wilmington University. The University of Delaware also happens to be one of the top colleges in Delaware along with Delaware State University. The University of Delaware is a public university established in 1743, long before the American Revolution. Today it is one of the oldest universities in the U.S. and is ranked No. 75 in the nation by U.S. News & World Report. Delaware State University is a public institution that was founded in 1896. It is located in Dover and serves as the state's land-grant institution.

Distance education is a means to wider access to higher education for busy students. Recognizing this, the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) took action recently to break down barriers online students' experience. The SREB is a board of 16 member states, one of which is Delaware; these states work together to increase the quality of education in their states from financial as well as accessibility aspects. As such, the SREB's Academic Common Market/Electronic Campus Program initiative makes it possible for students to take uncommon online courses from SREB schools in and outside of their state at in-state tuition rates.

Accredited Community Colleges in Delaware

There are 12 junior colleges in Delaware, the largest of which are the Delaware Technical Community College (DTCC) campuses in Owens, Terry, and Stanton/Wilmington. DTCC campuses began offering online course and certificate options in order to increase its students' probability of higher education program completion. Through Ed2Go, students can take for-credit online courses. Meanwhile, through DTCC's partnership with ProTrain, students can complete certificate programs online. These distance options enable busy students to maintain their normal schedules while working towards their degree or certificate at their convenience.

DTCC isn't the only community college in Delaware providing advanced education options to increase student success rates; Harford Community College (HCC) does as well. It was recently announced that DTCC, HCC, and the University of Delaware as a group had received a federal grant for their joint Cybersecurity Education Initiative. Apart from the cybersecurity degree and minor programs created at the University of Delaware, a 2+2 program will be created for both HCC and DTCC. Through this program, HCC and DTCC students can begin working towards their cybersecurity degree and then transfer to the University of Delaware to complete their bachelor's degree in the discipline.



Community Colleges:

Find your perfect
Online College:

Quick Degree Finder is an advertising-supported site. Featured or trusted partner programs and all school search, finder, or match results are for schools that compensate us. This compensation does not influence our school rankings, resource guides, or other editorially-independent information published on this site.